Captain Kirk Boldly Goes …

Captains Log 13102021, Blue Origin successfully completed its second human flight into space on board the New Shepard spacecraft on Wednesday, October 13, 2021.

The flight included astronauts, Dr. Chris Boshuizen, Glen de Vries, Audrey Powers, and William Shatner.

Star Treks Captain Kirk, “To boldly go where no man has gone before“, a.k.a. 90-year-old William Shatner became the oldest person to travel into space.

Mission Statistics:

Official launch time: 9:49 AM Central Daylight Time (CDT) / 14:49 UTC

Booster apogee: 347,160 ft Above Ground Level (AGL) / 350,807 ft Mean Sea Level (MSL) (106 km AGL / 107 km MSL)

Crew capsule apogee: 347,539 ft AGL / 351,186 ft MSL (106 km AGL / 107 km MSL)

Max ascent velocity: 2,235 mph / 3,597 km/h

Crew capsule Landing Time: 9:59 AM CDT / 14:59 UTC

Mission elapsed time: 10 min 17 sec

Occupants experienced weightlessness for a few minutes during the flight,

before landing back on earth, 10 minutes after taking off.

Images courtesy of Blue Origin (https://www.blueorigin.com/)